Widest portfolio of adsorbent technologies for a broad spectrum of applications. 巴斯夫正极活性材料产品组合具有能量密度高、安全性好和效能高的特性,并可根据应用的需要进行量身定制,助力电动汽车锂离子电池技术的发展。 Air cleaners that help to improve indoor air quality. Solutions for the most challenging applications.
4238 The Logistics Center In The Site Ludwigshafen Adsorbents Cathode Material Ncm622 Mixture Orange 3000X Woman On A Couch At Home Breathing Clean Air Shutterstock 324606446 Alfred Punke 007 Ucr

Choose your language

This section is available in the following languages: English | Deutsch

可持续发展

我们的目标

创造化学新作用、追求可持续发展的未来是巴斯夫的企业宗旨。

通过与可再生能源的利用相结合,电动交通是在全球范围内协调个人出行需求与大幅减少本地排放需求之间矛盾的关键解决方案之一。作为全球领先的锂离子电池正级活性材料供应商,巴斯夫致力于实现可持续发展的电池产业链,让电动交通走进每个人的生活。

Peter circle head

"对环保交通的需求日益增长,为开发具有卓越二氧化碳足迹的创新电池材料技术提供了绝佳的机会。基于生产过程中绿色能源的利用和回收材料的使用,具有最低碳排放的正极活性材料是对巴斯夫现有的汽车行业产品组合的进一步补充。领先的技术和智能设计与一流的可持续发展方针相辅相成,将促使我们为客户提供更优质、更环保的产品。"

彼得. 舒马赫博士, 巴斯夫催化剂业务部总裁

Michael circle head

"我们坚信,电动交通所使用的电池,其供应链应该满足尽可能高的社会和环境标准。巴斯夫致力于为行业提供实现最低碳排放的正极活性材料解决方案,并打造一个独特、可靠、可持续发展的电池材料价值链而不懈努力。实现这一目标的关键是提供可持续发展的原材料采购和回收解决方案,同时不妥协性能和成本的竞争力。”

贝铭凯博士,巴斯夫催化剂业务部电池材料全球高级副总裁

进一步实现欧洲电池材料价值链二氧化碳减排

CO2 tree3

作为全球领先的化学公司,我们希望在2019年到2030年间实现二氧化碳排放量零增长

我们致力于提供创新的高性能产品,同时实现电池价值链环节中最低的二氧化碳排放量。

  • 专注于不断研发更高能量密度的正极活性材料,减少电池所需金属材料并提升电动汽车的行驶里程。
  • 采用创新的烧结工艺
  • 生产过程中,在关键反应步骤采用领先(工艺)技术

在欧洲,我们近期的投资部署将帮助巴斯夫实现:

  • 通过整合价值链将基础金属供应(特别是镍和钴)、前驱体和正极活性材料的生产集中在同一地区,从而提高效率
  • 采用行业领先的多类型能源组合模式,结合闭环电池回收,使得价值链中二氧化碳排放量进一步低于平均行业标准。
  • 为客户在欧洲的生产设施就近快捷可靠地提供产品,降低运输过程中的能耗。
EBMI Schwarzheide graphic final 1500pixel

巴斯夫德国施瓦茨海德 正极活性材料生产基地的未来蓝图

巴斯夫位于施瓦茨海德的新工厂,其能源来自于其热电联产的高能效燃气蒸汽涡轮电厂,该电厂目前正在进一步优化以提升其生态效能,可再生能源的整合也在计划之中。巴斯夫哈尔亚瓦尔塔装置将利用可再生能源进行生产,包括水电、风电、生物发电。

通过与可再生能源相结合的区域化生产,结合在巴斯夫欧洲新工厂中应用高效节能和独家工艺技术,我们能够显著减少二氧化碳排放量--与市场上的传统行业标准相比,二氧化碳排放量可降低约30%。

负责的矿物原材料采购

BASF Lab 20180418 0716

正极活性材料前驱体(PCAM)和正极活性材料(CAM)的生产需要使用多种原材料,例如含钴、锂、镍、铝和锰等金属的矿物原料。

当前,矿物的采购过程中可能会遇到环境、健康和安全以及人权等方面的风险和挑战,例如,源自刚果民主共和国(DRC)的手采钴。对巴斯夫而言,负责的矿物原料采购非常重要。

巴斯夫致力于构建一个包括钴在内的负责任且可持续的全球原材料供应链。2018年,巴斯夫和诺镍(Nornickel)曾签署了一项长期供应协议,巴斯夫从诺镍公司位于芬兰的金属精炼厂采购镍和钴。该协议确保了巴斯夫在欧洲的电池生产所需原材料的本地采购和安全供应。

巴斯夫坚持不采购源自刚果民主共和国的手采钴原料,同时我们的供应商也确保不采购此种钴源。我们支持"促进钴发展"这一跨行业项目,该项目旨在可持续地提高受雇于人工采钴行业及其周边社区的人们的生活和工作条件。此外,巴斯夫也积极参与行业和多方利益相关者的倡议,促进负责任的人工以及小规模采矿(ASM)标准的制定。

为了有效应对与矿物采购相关的潜在风险,巴斯夫采取了强化的尽职调查策略,并与公司采购管理系统结合,支持公司总体可持续发展目标的实现。

尽职调查流程以及风险评估系统

Shutterstock 1771716803 web

巴斯夫在全球实行企业尽职调查管理流程,以甄别和管理供应链中的潜在可持续发展风险。其中一个重要企业目标是在2025年之前实现可持续发展评估覆盖90%的相关采购支出,并提高80%的被评估供应商的可持续发展绩效。

可持续发展评估是基于巴斯夫的供应商行为准则以及巴斯夫供应链倡议“携手实现可持续发展(TfS)”中的第三方质量保证评估工具。Tfs是由26家化学公司联合倡议发起的全球项目。TfS的框架、评估和审计允许TfS成员公司评估其供应商在环境、劳工和人权、道德和可持续采购方面的表现,并推动公司及其供应商实施具体、可量化的进步措施,实现双方的可持续发展。

eTfS是用于采矿评估的TfS审计加强模块,它的范围与“负责的采矿保证倡议(IRMA)”的采矿标准覆盖范围相当。通过全球匿名拨打的合规热线,人们可以提出疑义,这些疑义将通过严格的管理和验证程序予以解决。巴斯夫自身的尽职调查管理流程和合规热线也会每年接受第三方审计验证

矿物原料采购保障措施及监管链

除了企业承诺和尽职调查管理之外,当涉及到前驱体(PCAM)和正极活性材料(CAM)业务的矿物原料采购时,巴斯夫还采取了特定的保障措施,包括观察并确保遵守经合组织《受冲突影响地区和高风险地区矿产责任供应链尽职调查指南》以及相关监管链需求。我们根据该指南方针以及巴斯夫内部更详尽的“携手实现可持续发展(TfS)”评估系统来分析和评估我们的供应链。在适当和清晰的情况下,巴斯夫在供应链各层级应用TfS可持续发展评估工具(ECOVADIS, TfS 和 TfS采矿审计强化模块)。

积极参与行业及多方利益相关者倡议

Shutterstock 1686998698

在充分了解行业面临的挑战和风险的基础上,巴斯夫致力于实现更富意义的影响、支持联合国可持续发展目标的达成。巴斯夫积极参与多方利益相关者和行业倡议,通过与各方协作达到事半功倍的效果。例如积极参与全球电池联盟,与宝马、三星SDI和三星电子联合开展手工和小规模采矿(ASM)试点矿项目等。

全球电池联盟(GBA)

Weforum

巴斯夫积极参与2017年成立的世界经济论坛全球电池联盟(GBA)。联盟目前有70多名成员,所有成员均承诺创建一个负责任的、生态及环境可持续发展的、创新的电池价值链。

更多关于GBA的信息,请访问:https://www.weforum.org/global-battery-alliance/home

“促进钴发展”试点采矿项目

Cobalt Image people and car

Niels Angel(BMW,左)和Jean-Luc Mathey (GIZ,右)在刚果民主共和国向科卢韦齐(Kolwezi)当地的采矿专家了解人工钴矿开采

宝马携手三星SDI、三星电子以及巴斯夫在刚果民主共和国启动了为期三年的“促进钴发展”试点矿产项目,执行合作伙伴包括德国技术合作公司(GIZ)、IMPACT和好牧人(Good Shepherd),以促进实现负责任的人工钴矿开采作业。

IMPACT是一个专门从事改善自然资源治理的国际非政府组织,而好牧人(Good Shepherd)国际基金会 / Bon Pasteur是一个在该地区具有长期社区发展经验的组织。

该项目旨在开发可实现规模化推广的最佳采矿项目实践经验。它也将有助于实现全球电池联盟等提出的全球倡议目标,促进构建可持续发展的矿物原料供应链。

该项目的其中一个目标是开发和应用负责任的采矿实践。在邻近社区,项目则聚焦于儿童教育的推广以及成人理财素养以及居民多源收入能力的培训。

了解更多关于巴斯夫对钴产业的倡议的信息。

责任矿产倡议(RMI)

在责任商业联盟(RBA)(更名前为电子行业联盟EICC)的主导下,责任矿产倡议(RMI)向各公司及其供应商提供独立的第三方审计,以确定哪些冶炼厂和精炼厂落实了相关保证系统,确保在矿物采购过程中以合理方式尽量规避严重侵犯人权、腐败和冲突等相关风险。责任矿产倡议(RMI)是与受冲突影响和高风险地区(CAHRA)相关的责任矿产采购领域的标准制定和协调的重要参与者。2017年,责任矿产倡议(RMI)启动了责任钴采购项目。责任矿产倡议(RMI)与中国责任钴业倡议(RCI)一起制定了钴精炼厂尽职调查标准。巴斯夫于2019年12月加入RMI。

金属回收与循环经济

Recycling

对巴斯夫来说,循环经济不仅仅是废物处理。智能循环经济概念要求整合产品设计、开发和生产流程,从一开始就考虑系统及材料的使用和重复利用。我们的目标是在整个价值链中尽量以最佳方式闭环并合理利用产品和资源。

电池材料生产和回收的结合将在这一领域实现生产闭环和循环经济。为了推动电气化出行,巴斯夫为电池中的高能量密度正极活性材料回收和高效金属提取问题提供解决方案。巴斯夫与电池价值链上的合作伙伴合作,推动再生原材料的在电池市场的利用和责任性生产。

联系我们

更多信息,请联系我们业务团队

Important message on COVID19

Learn More Dismiss
Widest portfolio of adsorbent technologies for a broad spectrum of applications. Catalytic converters for aircraft cabins and fuel inerting. Cathode materials, e-mobility, next-generation technology solutions. Air cleaners that help to improve indoor air quality. Solutions for the most challenging applications. BASF maintains significant diesel research and development facilities around the world. These facilities are being used to develop the technologies needed to meet the extremely low emission levels called for in new emissions regulations. As the global leader in mobile emissions catalysts, BASF has developed a number of specialized catalyst technologies. BASF offers a "full loop" of precious metals products & services. Catalysts for chemical, petrochemical, and refining industries. We offer precious metals supply and full-loop management services, including refining to recover precious metals from spent catalysts. The development of fuels and chemicals based on biological feedstocks is critical to a sustainable future and BASF is proud to provide the catalysts to support this industry. BASF has established itself as a front-runner in this field by becoming the global market leader for sodium methylate, the homogeneous catalyst used for biodiesel production. BASF catalyst technologies play a crucial role in the manufacture of a wide range of fine and specialty chemical products including flavor and fragrances, herbicides and pesticides, resins, pigments and dyestuffs, pharmaceuticals, and plastic and rubber additives. Chemistry plays an important role in the transformation of vegetable oils to products for our daily life. Catalysts are an indispensable tool to make this transformation possible. BASF offers more than 125 years of experience with oxidation catalysts. Each percent of catalyst selectivity advantage creates additional value and reduces COx emission. Solutions for power plants, process industries and more. BASF Catalysts has long been a leader in the development of highly active, robust and selective catalysts and related technologies for the destruction of volatile organic compounds (VOC). Thermocouples, pyrometers - insights for higher yields. Our contact temperature probes include high temperature thermocouples, platinum thermocouples, noble metal thermocouples, thermocouples for the glass industry, profile and spike thermocouples for diffusion furnaces, high temperature industrial thermocouples, furnace thermocouples, and high temperature thermocouple wire and cable. A specialty of BASF for many years is the glass thermocouple. We have grown with the industry and, as glass technology requirements have expanded and changed over the years. Offering excellent accuracy, resolution, repeatability, and stability, EXACTUS® optical pyrometer technology provides significant performance advantages in non-contact temperature measurement in a practical, rugged and user-friendly design.

Choose your language

This section is available in the following languages: English | 简体中文 | Deutsch

Sustainability

Our ambition: to create a sustainable battery materials value chain

Creating chemistry for a sustainable future is the corporate purpose of BASF.

Electromobility is one of the key solutions to merge the global desire for individual mobility and the need to significantly reduce local emissions, especially in combination with renewable energy. As a global leading supplier of battery materials for lithium-ion batteries, we aim to contribute to sustainable battery materials value chain and make electromobility a practical reality for everyone.

"Our battery materials complements BASF‘s overall product portfolio delivering solutions to our customers from the automotive industry. While battery electric vehicles have the benefit of zero emission mobility, the battery itself and its raw material value chain require an energy intensive production process. BASF can help keep the carbon footprint of the value chain for electromobility as low as possible. Our cathode active materials will have an industry leading low CO₂ impact thanks to our efficient manufacturing process, the high share of renewable energy, the upstream integration into the key raw materials like Cobalt and Nickel, as well as the short transportation route along the value chain.”

Dr. Peter Schuhmacher, President, Catalysts Division at BASF

“We strongly believe that electromobility should be based on batteries that are produced with the highest possible social and environmental standards. BASF is contributing with lowest-CO₂ cathode active material solutions to relentlessly strive for a unique, reliable and sustainable battery value chain. We practice sustainable raw materials sourcing and leverage recycling solutions without compromising performance and cost competitiveness.”

Dr. Michael Baier, Senior Vice President of Battery Materials, Catalysts Division at BASF

Reduced CO₂ footprint of our European value chain

As a leading chemical company, we want to achieve CO-neutral growth from 2019 to 2030. We are determined to provide innovative high-performance products with a minimized CO₂ footprint along the battery value chain.

  • Effectively research and develop cathode active materials with a higher energy density leading to less materials consumption for batteries and enabling a longer driving range of cars
  • Implement innovative calcination technologies
  • Leading production technologies for reaction steps

In Europe, our recent investments will enable us with:

  • Efficiency gains through a concentrated value chain combining base metal supply, particularly nickel and cobalt, precursor production, and cathode material production within one region.
  • An industry leading energy mix and closed-loop recycling will allow for lower CO₂ footprint compared to the average industry standard.
  • Short and reliable access to products in proximity to customers’ European manufacturing facilities will reduce the energy consumption during transportation

Visualisation of the future plant for cathode active materials in Schwarzheide, Germany.

Our new plant in Schwarzheide will use an energy-efficient gas and steam turbine power plant that operates on the principle of combined heat and power generation. It is currently being modernized to further increase its eco-efficiency. Further integration of renewable energies is also planned. The Harjavalta plant will use renewable energy resources, including hydro, wind and biomass-based power.

Through regional production in combination with renewable energy sources as well as use of energy efficient and proprietary process technologies in our new plants in Europe, we are able to reduce the CO footprint significantly – by around 30% compared to the conventional industry standard on the market.

Responsible Sourcing of Minerals

The production of precursor cathode active materials (PCAM) and cathode active materials (CAM) involves various mineral raw materials such as cobalt, lithium, nickel, aluminum, and manganese.

Sourcing mineral raw materials responsibly is the expectation and a guiding principle of BASF. When sourcing minerals, companies may face challenges in the areas of environment, health and safety, and human rights, e.g. if cobalt is extracted through artisanal mining in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

BASF is committed to foster a responsible and sustainable global supply chain of raw materials, including cobalt. In 2018, BASF and Nornickel had signed a long-term supply agreement for nickel and cobalt from Nornickel’s metal refinery in Finland. The agreement ensures locally sourced and secure supply of raw materials for battery production in Europe.

BASF does not procure cobalt from artisanal mines in DRC and our suppliers confirm that they do not either. We support the cross-industry project Cobalt for Development which aims at sustainably improving the living and working conditions of the people employed in the artisanal cobalt sector and surrounding communities. Besides, BASF actively engages in industry and multi-stakeholder initiatives that promote the development of a responsible Artisanal and Small-scale Mining (ASM) standard.

To effectively respond to risks related to sourcing of minerals, BASF has adopted an enhanced due diligence approach that complements our general corporate sustainability in procurement management system.

Due diligence process and risk assessment tools

BASF operates a globally applied corporate due diligence management process to identify and manage sustainability risks in its supply chains. An important corporate target is to cover 90% of our relevant procurement spending with sustainability evaluations by 2025 and improve sustainability performance of 80% of our evaluated suppliers.

Sustainability evaluations are carried out based on our Supplier Code of Conduct and the quality assured third party evaluation tools of the supply chain initiative “Together for Sustainability” (TfS). TfS is a joint initiative and global network of 26 chemical companies. The TfS framework – TfS Assessments and TfS Audits – allows TfS member companies to assess the environmental, labor and human rights, ethical and sustainable procurement performance of their suppliers and drive and deliver measurable improvements of their suppliers’ as well as their own sustainability performance.

The TfS audit can be enhanced by a specific module for the evaluation of mines (eTfS). The scope of the mining module is comparable to the Initiative for Responsible Mining Assurance (IRMA) mining standard. Through globally and anonymously operating compliance hotlines, concerns can be raised and addressed through a strict management and verification process. BASF’s own due diligence management and compliance hotline are also subject to annual third party audit verification.

Guardrails and chain of custody for mineral sourcing

In addition to our corporate commitment and due diligence management approach, specific guardrails apply when it comes to mineral sourcing for our PCAM and CAM businesses. These include the observation of the OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Supply Chains of Minerals from Conflict-Affected and High-Risk Areas (OECD Due Diligence Guidance) and related chain of custody requirements. We analyze our supply chains against the backdrop of this guidance and our own more comprehensive sustainability assessments. Where indicated, we apply TfS sustainability evaluation tools (ECOVADIS, TfS and TfS mining audits) on relevant tiers of the supply chain.

Our engagement in industry and multi-industry initiatives

Understanding the challenges and risks for the industry, we aim to achieve more meaningful impacts in terms of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. BASF participates in multi-stakeholder and industry initiatives to reinforce our own efforts through collaborative approaches such as Global Battery Alliance and a joint ASM Pilot Mine Project with BMW, Samsung SDI and Samsung Electronics, etc. In these initiatives BASF is an active founding member.

Global Battery Alliance (GBA)

BASF is actively involved in the World Economic Forum's Global Battery Alliance (GBA), which it co-founded in 2017. The GBA has over 70 members, who are committed to creating a socially responsible, ecological, economically sustainable and innovative value chain for batteries.

Find more information about the GBA: https://www.weforum.org/global-battery-alliance/home.

Pilot Mine Project “Cobalt for Development”

Niels Angel (BMW Group, left) and Jean-Luc Mathey (GIZ, right) learn more about artisanal mining from a local mining specialist in Kolwezi, DR Kongo.

BMW together with Samsung SDI, Samsung Electronics and BASF launched a three-year Pilot Mine Project “Cobalt for Development” in DRC for Responsible Artisanal Cobalt Mining with the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), IMPACT and Good Shepherd as implementing partners. IMPACT is an international non-governmental organization that specializes in improving natural resource governance, and Good Shepherd International Foundation / Bon Pasteur is an organization with longstanding community development experience in the area.

The project aims at developing best practices that can then be scaled up by further mining projects. This project also contributes to the goals of global initiatives, such as the Global Battery Alliance (GBA), to foster sustainable supply chains.

One objective of the project is to develop and implement responsible mining practices. In the nearby community, the focus of the project will be to improve access to education for children, as well as trainings on financial literacy and alternative incomes for its residents.

Know more about BASF’s Cobalt Initiative.

Responsible Minerals Initiative (RMI)

Under the auspices of the Responsible Business Alliance (RBA), formerly the Electronic Industry Citizenship Coalition (EICC), RMI offers companies and their suppliers an independent, third-party audit that determines which smelters and refiners can be verified as having assurance systems in place to manage risks related to gross human rights violations, corruption and conflict. RMI is an important player in standard setting and standard coordination in the area of responsible mineral sourcing related to conflict affected and high-risk areas (CAHRA). In 2017, RMI launched a program on responsible cobalt sourcing. Together with the Chinese Responsible Cobalt Initiative (RCI), RMI developed a Cobalt Refiner Due Diligence Standard. RMI is currently working on the establishment of a standard for responsible ASM. BASF joined the RMI in December 2019.

Recycling and circular economy

For BASF, circular economy is much more than waste management. A smart circular economy concept should integrate product design, development, production processes, use and re-use systems and materials right from the beginning. Our aim is to close loops and use products and resources in the best way possible across the entire value chain.

The combination of battery materials production and recycling closes the production loop and therefore enables a circular economy. To drive electrification, BASF provides solutions for high energy density cathode active materials and high efficiency metal extraction for battery recycling. Together with its partners along the battery value chain, BASF fosters the production and use of responsibly produced recycled raw materials in the battery market.

Project “Recycling Li-ion batteries for electric Vehicle” (ReLieVe) for the development of innovative closed-loop process for the recycling of lithium-ion batteries.

A joint battery recycling cluster in Harjavalta, Finland serving the electric vehicle market to enable a successful “closed loop” cycle to re-use the critical metals present in used batteries.

Contact our team for more information

Looking for more information?

Contact our team below.

Would you like to contact our team?
Topic of Interests:

Please select all that apply.